The Relevance of the Church

I had opportunity to ask questions of some church leaders a few days ago.  One of the questions I asked was, “if I walked into a local store or restaurant and asked them about your church, what would the average person say about your church?”  I think it’s something we all need to consider for ourselves.  For, the truth be told, the church does not enter into the thinking of too many people these days.  Why is this?

I’m afraid that for too many people, they do not see the church as having relevance for their lives.  They are mistaken in that viewpoint, but we as Christians and leaders have not given them reason to see otherwise.  We have to good news of Jesus Christ, and our commission is to share that with the world.  But we need to speak (and live) in terms that those outside the church can understand and relate to.

How do we do that?  Now that’s a tough question.  I think it begins with us being real, not pretending to be someone we’re not nor incapable of being.  As Christians, we are forgiven, but that does not make us perfect.  As someone once said, “evangelism is one beggar telling another beggar where to find bread.”  We are saved by grace, not because we are perfect people and have earned forgiveness.  I’m not sure I’m communicating my thoughts clearly and completely here. 

But somehow we must be able to overcome the disconnect between the church and our society.  God help us with wisdom to do so.

Blessings

David

About David Porter

I am a pastor and teacher, desiring to reunderstand what it means to follow Jesus.
This entry was posted in Church and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment